DLSU Green Archers  eye to continue unbeaten run against CEU in PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup


Game Monday(Filoil EcoOil Centre, San Juan)7:30 p.m. — EcoOil-De La Salle vs CEU

HISTORY meets destiny as three-peat seeking EcoOil-De La Salle University and surprise finalist Centro Escolar University (CEU) battle in Game 1 of an interesting best-of-three title showdown in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup on Monday at the Filoil EcoOil Centre in San Juan.

Game time is at 7:30 p.m. with the Green Archers, also UAAP champions, eyeing to continue their unbeaten campaign to zero in on a historic third straight crown in the PBA’s developmental ranks.

Standing in their way are the determined Scorpions in their first finals appearance in five years — and third overall — for a goal of capturing their breakthrough championship.

Both squads took contrasting paths to the Last Dance with De La Salle sweeping its way against Go Torakku-St. Clare, 2-0, in the semifinals for its seventh straight win in as many games.

The back-to-back UCAL champion CEU, for its part, shot a bevy of birds with one stone in a 78-56 statement win over Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda University in the do-or-die Game 3.

The Scorpions denied Marinero a finals ticket for the fourth straight edition and in the process spoiled an anticipated rematch with De La Salle for the third straight time.

And CEU, after gunning for the heads of the NCAA champions, wants more.

“Hopefully, we can take down another Goliath in La Salle. We just have to put in extra work. We still have another round to inspire other people and small schools,” said coach Jeff Perlas.

But that would not be an easy mountain to climb against the mighty De La Salle, which is out to become the only second team to win three straight titles in the D-League after NLEX had a four-peat in the 2010s.

“There are still games to be played. We still have to win two games to get the championship,” said assistant coach Gian Nazario, tasked by head coach Topex Robinson to handle the Green Archers’ D-League campaign. — John Bryan Ulanday